JRS Trustee Prof. Baldwyn Torto Receives Highest Science Honors

We are enormously proud to announce that on May 2nd, JRS Trustee Professor Baldwyn Torto was elected as a new member of The National Academy of Sciences.  This honor is made in recognition of his “distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Membership in the Academy is among the highest honors a scientist can achieve.”

Professor Torto is the Head of the Behavioral and Chemical Ecology Unit at the International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology (ICIPE), a world-class research center focusing on insect sciences. Previously, he worked as a scientist in some of the top research institutions in the world including Rothamsted Research, UK, and the USDA/ARS-Center for Medical, Agricultural and Veterinary and Entomology. Baldwyn is a Fellow of the Entomological Society of America, Fellow of the African Academy of Sciences and an Extraordinary Professor at the University of Pretoria, South Africa. He has served on the JRS Board since 2017 and has held the positions of President and Vice President of the Foundation.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and–with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine-—provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

For a list of all newly elected members and their affiliation at the time of election read more.